The Fab Flippin’ Furniture Contest – From Shabby To CHIC!

Hi everyone, I am so excited to tell you that I am taking part in a fantastic competition this month called “The Fab Flippin’ Furniture Contest” organised by a group of wonderful bloggers and this month hosted by Charlotte at Ciburbanity and Carrie from Thirty Eighth Street.

Not only you get to showcase your piece, your transformation and get opportunity to be featured on these blogs, you also get a prize! This month The Old Fashioned Milk Paint Company is the sponsor of the contest!

Old Fashioned Milk Paint

This competition runs monthly and each month there is a new theme.  This month’s theme is – Shabby Chic Storage! I love shabby chic items, so I thought it would be so easy.. but once I started thinking I had so many ideas and wasn’t sure which one to go with.. I decide to test myself a little and try to transform this old dressing table. This was definitely more shabby than chic..

IMG_8019

I found it abandoned and thought it would be perfect for upcycling it for the Fab Flippin’ Furniture Contest.

IMG_8020

It needed some fixing before I could actually create what I had in mind, but after some wood filler, lots of sanding and cleaning the piece was ready to be transformed.

DSC08400

DSC08403

I used Annie Sloan’s Antoinette for the base colour. As I wasn’t happy with the piece as I thought it was looking a little plain in just baby pink I decided to use a bit of lace painting for this project. I ended up injecting some deeper colour in this piece as I thought it would give a better effect and to be honest I am so glad I went for it!!

DSC08411

I had a net curtain with beautiful butterflies which I thought would be perfect for this theme.  I placed the net curtain over the drawers and the shelf and sprayed some matching baby pink spray paint over.

DSC08987

I took the lace off….. and Loved the effect..

DSC08990

I painted the door knobs in fuchsia pink and sprinkled some gold glitter on, sealed it with varnish…

DSC09035

and then it was done.. From shabby to chic!!!

DSC09108

DSC09102  DSC09116

DSC09121 DSC09138

 DSC09120

DSC09135

DSC09129

DSC09122

DSC09144    DSC09107

Meet the bloggers who are part of this wonderful contest

furniture flipping, furniture contests, refinishing furniture, painting furniture, fffc, diy, before and after

Evey from Evey’s Creations (Co-Creator) Stacy from Anastasia Vintage (Co-Creator)
Charlotte from Ciburbanity Lynn from Fern Avenue  Michelle from  Dandelion Patina Carrie from Thirty Eighth Street.
The Fab Furniture Flippin’ Contest is open only to the entrants who have signed up through the group Facebook page. If you are an active, furniture flippin’ blogger, and you’d like to participate in future contests, we’d love to have you! Please contact Evey (info@eveyscreations.com) or Stacy (info@anastasiavintage.com) to find out how!
Sharing with DIY Showoff
Something to Talk About @2 Bees in a Pod
signature from evija




29 thoughts on “The Fab Flippin’ Furniture Contest – From Shabby To CHIC!

  1. Christine says:

    So very pretty in pink! I showed my daughter and she absolutely loved it! Another lovely transformation! Love the inspiration for the knobs. We’re painting my daughters dresser, and I’ve been looking for ways to DIY and beautify the ugly knobs that came with it! Thank you for sharing! It’s fun co-hosting #OhMyHeartsieGirlsWW with you! Enjoy your week!

    Like

    • From Evija with Love says:

      Thank you Christine, such a lovely comment.. I am always a bit more conservative when it comes to colours, but I thought this needed a nice bright colour, so glad I went for it! My pleasure, co-hosting with you! x

      Like

  2. Oh My Heartsie Girl says:

    Your dresser turned out so nice, I love how you used the lace to transfer the design and the color effects, you id a great job, saved an old dresser!!!

    Thanks for Co-Hosting with Oh My Heartsie Girls ww, its really been fun to get to know you and your blog. Hope you have a great week! Karren

    Liked by 1 person

  3. psbarton99 says:

    You are truly talented! I love your work and you inspire me. Your post make me look at old furniture with a new eye. It’s great to co-host with you this week at OMHG WW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment